The Barefoot Queen

Time for a book review!!!!!!!

I know, it’s been so long, but finally, I have had the time to finish reading a book and post a review. Midterms are coming up and the semester is almost over, so free time is really rare for me as of lately.

Anyways, let’s talk about this book: I received this from the BloggingForBooks program in exchange for my honest review. And let me tell you, I have a lot to say about this book.

Well, not really. I don’t want to spoil it for you all. 🙂


The Barefoot Queen by Ildefonso Falcones is a historical novel, illustrating the lives of Gypsies in 18th century Spain. When I got home from a long day’s work and a seminar in the city, I was surprised to find this monster of a novel in a huge box full of bubble wrap that was sadly un-poppable (is that even a word?). I mean, the whole reason for the existence of bubble wrap is to pop the bubble, am I right? This novel is around 650 pages, so it is a very long read. Most of it will be read (or has been read by the time I finish this post) while I have free time during my midterms week.  The expected publication date  is January 29th, 2015 (today) so this is really exciting to receive it just in time before it’s out.

The protagonist is Caridad, a slave from Cuba who was recently freed after the death of her master. Milagros is a gypsy who quickly befriends Caridad. Their friendship is really interesting, seeing that both of them can be classified as ‘rejects’ during that time period. The story escalates as the gypsies are outlawed from Spain and everything gets all messed up. I’m going to stop here because I really don’t want to spoil this for you all who are planning to read it

To be honest, I couldn’t finish the book. Life has it’s ways of throwing unexpected bumps in the roads and sometimes the holes in the road you see coming are deeper than you thought. School-life is extremely hectic and for the past two weeks I’ve been taking midterms upon midterms upon midterms, and if I see another ScanTron, I might just freak.
It is quite massive but really gorgeous. The cover is prettier in person, and the color scheme matched the book itself (like it was made for it). The story of Caridad which is intertwined with that of Milagros is really beautiful and well written. This is the first work of Ildefonso Falcones that I have read and it is really enjoyable. I love the style of separating the story into multiple sections; it really helped divide up how much reading I gave myself as a treat. Not only that, but how much I have left to read. Overall, I really enjoyed it. I give it 4 fleurs

Happy Reading to all and to all a Good Night!

Leave a Reply

